Chinese-Forums

Awesome Mandarin! Must listen!

wannabeafreak

Listened to the first 5 minutes.

Up thru his regrets of Pimsleur. Listen more later. . .maybe.

Now my opinion:

I know I'm going to get flamed really bad for this but here goes (I'm no stranger to controversy on the board anyway). I'm really not all that impressed. His pronunciation is pretty good, his intonation is fairly decent, but he still obviously has a foreign accent. I'm pretty busy and I must admit conversation is little boring and wasn't very complicated.

He's done what a lot of self-study people did: got some help with the beginning pronunciation, grabbed some tapes and watched some TV.

I think he discounts the benefit of Pimsleur although I have several major beefs with them also. (another thread in the planning)

In fact, he did a lot of what I've done and I think my level was comparable to his before coming to China. Am I bragging or trying to –no. I've mentioned elsewhere that I've met many self-taught people who were at a level that many would-be surprised at. Why do they make progess so quickly? part is motivation but a large part I proffer is do to the focus on needful things first.

I am impressed with his resolve to study on his own and the same with anyone, but not so much with the outcome which I've seen with other self-taught people. (I didn't listen to his English) I'm more impressed with him learning to speak three languages (at once?) and that says something (especially learning the mess that is English!).

I'm just saying that there's absolutely no reason why each and every single student of Chinese cannot reach that level in the same amount of time. I've met people who spent three years in college courses of Chinese and are not nearly at that level.