Chinese-Forums

Give you/me a phone call

rcxAsh

I was wondering if I heard and remember this correctly.. but let's say I wanted to say something like, "give me a phone call," would it be correct to say:

打電話給我

And to say that I'll call you,

我打電話給你

To say that I'll call you tomorrow,

我明天打電話給你

Are these correct? How would I say the opposite though? For example, how would I say, "I didn't call him"? Would it be even close to 我沒打電話給他 (some how, I don't think this is correct?)

Now, assuming that first my sentence was correct, are there any other similar cases when you would use this type of construction? But not necessarily relating to phone calls?

I am not very good with all this but I think its more like...

我给你打电话 I will give you a call

你给我打电话 you give me a call

etc... not sure about other constructs at the moment... my head is about to hit the keyboard... bedtime... sorry...

Thanks for the info, xiaojiang! So either order is correct. Are they also just as common? Or is there one that is used more often?

Also, is this type of construction used for other things? For example, if I wanted to say "I give you a hug," would it also be something like 我打抱給你 / 我給你打抱? Are there other times that "我打...給你" / "我給你打..." can be used?

Thanks again!

"我打电话给你" is better translated as "I give a phone call to you", and "我给你打电话" as "I give you a phone call". "给你" is here like "to you" or "for you", and it can be put before or follow the verb-part "打电话", they're all okay, but it seems that "我给你打电话" is more formal.

"我打电话给你" is used in Taiwan, sometimes abbreviated to "我打给你". On the Mainland (or at least in Beijing), 我给你打电话 is common. But neither is really wrong.

For example, if I wanted to say "I give you a hug," would it also be something like 我打抱給你 / 我給你打抱?

No. It would be 我擁抱你.

打 is the verb for "making telephone call". The one example I can think of which uses this pattern (打...給) is 我打電報給你 (where 打 can be replaced by 發).