Chinese-Forums

学 and 学习

Ah-Bin

I have been wondering for a while. Is the phrase “我学习汉语”unnnatural? I have only ever heard it from learners and read it in textbooks, but everyone who I have ever heard say "study" or "learn" uses just“学” and not “学习”. Perhaps it is because I live in the south, but I can't help wondering whether “学习汉语”isn't more typical of textbook or "foreign learner talk" than natural conversation.

Personally I would not use 我學習漢語. There is something missing in this sentence. I suppose it is the time indicator. Say if I am learning French, I would say 我正在學法語. Or if I studied French 10 years ago when I was a student, I would say, 十年前我學過法語.

I suppose you don't say "I eat biscuits" very often in English. It is usually "I am eating some biscuits", or "I ate biscuits at breakfast today", "I have eaten these biscuits before". For stative verbs, such as "like"/ "hate", I think it is ok to say "我(很)喜歡/討厭漢語".

My grammar knowledge is very poor so the above may be totally wrong and misleading.

Is the phrase “我学习汉语”unnnatural? I have only ever heard it from learners and read it in textbooks, but everyone who I have ever heard say "study" or "learn" uses just“学” and not “学习”.
The example you gave may (or may not) be unnatural but the word 学习 itself is fine. Due to the fact that it's a two-syllable word, as opposed to the monosyllabic “学”, it has its use and can sound awkward if replaced by “学”. For example:

我喜欢在图书馆学习。

Maybe in some theoretical sense (I think I heard a person actually go on a tangent about that saying that it did, but most people would never think of it)

The thing that I see mainly as the difference is 学习 doesn't take object at the end (not that it can't but in usage it normally doesn't) and 学 does.

The thing that I see mainly as the difference is 学习 doesn't take object at the end (not that it can't but in usage it normally doesn't) and 学 does.