Chinese-Forums

Chorioretinitis, toxoplasmosis in Chinese?

mudhead

Is there a (bilingual) doctor in the house?? I need to know the correct Chinese term for "chorioretinitis," an infection in the retina of the eye. Also I need the Chinese for "toxoplasmosis," one of the causes of chorioretinits. I suffered from both these when I was a kid and I think the infection may have started up again, over 50 years later. I need these terms to explain to Chinese doctors what I've got. I would deeply appreciate expert help. I have already lost most of the vision in one eye to this infection and it would be most upsetting to have any more damage.

And if anyone by some miracle knows an ophthalmologist in Sichuan who knows anything about chorioretinitis, or how to find such a doctor, I would be eternally grateful.

Is there a (bilingual) doctor in the house??

I'm a doctor but my Chinese is not up to the required task. Imron's link looks like an excellent starting point for explaining what you think you’ve got.

I'm only writing to add that this may be worth a trip home to get sorted out. The diagnosis requires advanced laboratory techniques that might not be available in Chengdu or Chongqing. And the treatment is not at all straight forward.

I’m not an ophthalmologist and cannot advise you beyond this point.

Does anyone know whether doctors in China learn the english (latin) names of conditions in medical school? If they do, you would only need to write down the words.

As far as I know, it is all done in Chinese.

And if anyone by some miracle knows an ophthalmologist in Sichuan who knows anything about chorioretinitis, or how to find such a doctor, I would be eternally grateful.

I had a quick search. The best I could do was this listing for a doctor at 四川省人民医院 which lists 葡萄膜炎 as a "擅长". The same site also has a listing for the disease 葡萄膜炎 which lists possibilities in other cities (including one in Chongqing). Couldn't see any listings for the full 弓形体性葡萄膜炎.