Chinese-Forums

I'm out just buying soy sauce

blandmc

Hi all!

This is totally not important at all... but I was out on the streets and saw a car with a bumper sticker that said:

我是出来打酱油的

Hmm... I was wondering why one would write something like that on their car. I guess it is supposed to be funny? Of course humor never really translates well.

With some quick research I saw that 打酱油 means both "to buy soy sauce" and also something like "minding your own business"... something in the context of being in a store and a clerk asks you if you need help to which you reply, "I'm just buying soy sauce". I guess the English equivalent would be something like, "I'm just looking."

My question is... is this a common phrase? Do you hear it a lot? I am still very new to China and Chinese language... wondering how useful it may be.

And also - for any native speakers out there... is that a funny thing to have on your car?

Thanks!

Actually this is a Chinese internet saying that became very popular in 2008.

I don't know any details, here's a very detailed explanation in Chinese: http://baike.baidu.com/view/1601934.htm

If I understand it correctly, it relates to the attitude of Chinese netizens not to discuss political or any sensitive matters online, like "it's none of my business, I'm just buying soy sauce". But there are several angles to it, it seems.

See here for an illustrated overview.

Personally, I don't like some of the words, like "FT", "Man" and things alike. They are not characters in any sense and contaminate the Chinese language, not in any way good.

In addition, there're a number of hanzi variants on the internet, like 童鞋(同学),表(不要),偶(我)(words in the brackets are proper ones)and so forth. I am not sure how these bad words have come into being, maybe out of a longing for novelty, being different or looking cool. As a conservative others may consider me, I hate hanzis being used that way.

Edited by kenny2006woo

Thanks all for the information - great stuff!