Chinese-Forums

Advice for using Anki

Friday

Do you have any advice for beginning study with Anki?

I've been using Lingt for nearly a year, but now the site recently posted a notice that it will be closing down, so I'm frantically searching for an alternative SRS study method. I'm looking at Anki. I don't want to invest a huge amount of time creating word lists and setting up the software, I'd prefer using existing lists.

Most of the vocabulary I'm studying comes from New Practical Chinese Reader (NPCR). I downloaded the shared deck that included books 1-5.

I intend to study it in this manner:

I.

1. Show the hanzi for a card.

2. On paper, write the pinyin and think of the meaning.

3. Click "show card".

This should help me to continue studying pinyin. (1) Can I use these lists to also practice writing the hanzi or must I make a new list?

E.g.

II.

1. Show the pinyin and English definition.

2. On paper, write the hanzi.

3. Click "show card."

(2) Is that a good way to remember how to write the hanzi? (3) How can I get Anki to let me show the pinyin and English definition first?

(4) How do I add audio from the Pinyin Toolkit to the deck? Is this automatic, or must I go through and edit the entire deck manually?

(5) Is this software smart enough to recognize when a term is shared between two decks?

Rather than writing out the pinyin by hand, install the "allow numbers to match pinyin tone marks" plugin. Then go to the model settings, and set it to "compare answer to field 'Pinyin'", or whatever your pinyin field is called. Then you can type in the pinyin and have Anki check it for you automatically. This should be faster than writing it out by hand.

As for your other questions: