Chinese-Forums

Difference between Gudan vs Jimo

wilhal_18

Hi guys,

I need your help here. What is actually the difference of gudan vs jimo?? they both mean lonely in dictionary. I am sure there should be some difference between them.

can anyone help me, please. I am just a beginner.

thanks in advance for all the help.

I've always thought of 寂寞 as more subjective - you could be surrounded by tons of people you know and still feel lonely, whereas 孤单 is loneliness and seclusion, laying emphasis on the latter. I'm not a native speaker though, so I might be wrong.

hi everyone, i am still confused. thank you for your reply though.

@ william: you said that JIMO is usually from inside, then what about GUDAN?? and besides what do you mean by from inside?

i am seriously confused. can you please give me more detailed explanation?

There are a lot of vocabulary in Chinese where you use different words for different aspects of an idea.

For example, there are several words that all translate to the same word, but you would use one for if you're describing a building, describing something in your emotions, something that's alive... I don't have specific examples but the idea is to not think about it so much.

If you always go around saying in your head "did I use the right word? What should I use!!!?" then you're going to get stuck in a sea of synonyms. Just say and write what feels right to you, and people will point out to you the subtlties.

Welcome to East-Asian languages!

Gudan 孤单 isn't exactly the same as jimo 寂寞,but the difference between them isn't big either.

孤 in 孤单 suggests 'one', which in this case means lonely. It means you're all alone and you have no company and therefore you feel lonely, and this word is not necessary a negative word.