Chinese-Forums

How do you use 味道?

Hsuesheng

• New Members

大家好!It's my first time posting on these forums. I couldn't find any threads dealing with this question so I thought I'd create a new thread.

My question is: how do you use 味道?

From what I've understood, the word has the meaning of both taste and smell. So how do you distinguish between the two?

Example: 这个牛肉面的味道是真正的。Does the 味道 in this sentence refer to taste or smell, or is it irrelevant?

How would you say, "These beef noodles smell good," and "This apple tastes good"?

Thank you in advance!

Consider 好香/很香 for smell good, and 好吃 or 好味道 for taste good.

Not a fan of this usage if you are still a novice in Chinese.

味道很香/好香 is the full version for smells good. By getting rid of 味道 you get rid of smell. So you end up with implied word smell which is okay, but not good for a learning environment when unneededly made it more complicated.

味道很香/好香 is the full version for smells good. By getting rid of 味道 you get rid of smell. So you end up with implied word smell which is okay, but not good for a learning environment when unneededly made it more complicated.

Fairly sure if I understood that I'd disagree. Perfectly normal to lean into your bowl of noodles and say 好香啊, nothing to do with your level of Chinese.

My impression was that 好香 mainly means "smells good" but also implies "tastes good" or "tastes fresh". Is that not right?

As far as I'm aware, you can use 香 to describe things you wouldn't usually eat, e.g., flowers. In this case 香 probably refers to smell exclusively. Also, perfume is 香水. There is also a famous 香港. :)

No doubt most of this disagreement is due to the fact that our sense of taste and sense of small are closely intertwined. Much of what we call "taste" we actually detect through our nose, as I'm sure everyone has noticed if you've eaten things when you have a stuffed nose.

That said, to the OP, may I suggest jukuu as well? It's not perfect, but it should give you some idea.