Chinese-Forums

Links between simplified characters in database structure

Pj Muller

Dear all,

I'm a Belgian student, yes you can already guess it, in love with China & the language. So first of all thanks for this great forum -> I'm using it alot.

Look, next to the China-lover thing I'm also a programmer and would like to build my own learning tool.

What is the issue? I'm encountering a technical problem. I'm using the open source CC-EDICT database, but how do you figure out (automatically) the different meaning of each character for a word containing several characters? Because just matching on the individual character itself is not enough (as there are a lot of characters with multiple translations in the database)..

The question is thus, how do you link a word (=combination of several characters) to its original building blocks (=individual character).

Thanks,

Pj

When you say "characters with multiple translations" do you mean one character having multiple entries (i.e. separate lines in the dictionary file) or multiple definitions given on the same line for a single character? I think you are talking about the former, so I will answer based on that assumption, but if it is the latter then I don't think it is possible using just the CC-CEDICT file.

Your main clue is pronunciation/tone. You want to find the individual character entry which matches in pronunciation/tone to the character in the compound word. For example, the compound 处理 (chǔlǐ) is going to match up with the third tone 处 (chǔ), not the forth tone 处 (chù). You can also probably skip "proper noun" (i.e. capitalized) single-character entries like surnames, which aren't typically going to be used in compound words. I think only recently versions of the CC-CEDICT dictionary separate surnames into different entries.

Yes your assumption is correct. I'm having difficulties with multiple entries (=rows) for the same character.

The 'capitalized' pinyin tip is certainly a good one!