Chinese-Forums

Saying "later" in Chinese

transformation

• New Members

How do you say the word "later" in Chinese? I know chinese vocabulary used is heavily dependent on context. I work in a hospital setting where I am required to interact with my patients in mandarin. For example:

Patient: 请问我几点去动手术?

Me: 后来下午四点左右。

I am trying to say "later, at around 4pm." Is my use of 后来 correct here?

No, 后来 means afterwards, and refers to events that have happened in the past (e.g. if you had already described one event that happened in the past, then you use 后来 to refer to another event that happened after that).  You can't use it to describe future events.

In the above context, I would just say 下午四点左右.

"Later" can be translated as 待會兒 if it's a short while. I used to hold the opinion that 'later' means a while after the point you are speaking but I was wrong. From what I've observed, it can be stretched to several days long.

So given the context you've provided, I'd probably translate the second line as '待會兒四點左右'.

Kenny #3 -- I've been corrected by local friends (Kunming) with regard to when to use 一会儿 or 待一会儿 and when to use 以后。 If it's just a minute or two, they want me to use 一会儿, as in 请等一会儿。 That often gets shortened colloquially here to 稍等, especially in a casual restaurant.

But if I want to tell a shopkeeper that I will be back in a day or two to buy his goods after I've had a chance to look around in another part of town, my friends want me to say 我以后回来 or something more specific, such as 我几天后回来。  

In other words, 一会儿 or 待一会儿 for a short time later, and 以后 for a longer time later. Maybe it's a regionalism and of course I also realize such time statements are never expected to be precise. (Especially not in Kunming where punctuality is not a high priority and 请等一会儿 can stretch into what feels like a long wait. )

• Like 1