Chinese-Forums

歇后语

Nathan Mao

I ran across a 歇后语 tonight watching 一代枭雄:

“[我] 怕是脚底抹油   溜走!”

That's a 歇后语。 The 溜走 is a pun.  Literally, it means to slide/slip while walking because you stepped in some oil.  But the figurative meaning is that the people slipped away.

If 歇后语 haven't been discussed here yet, it is another form of idiom.

I'm not good at describing, so bear with me.

It usually takes the form of setting up a semi-humorous or 贫嘴-ish pun.

You first give the situation: "It's like..."  In Chinese, that comes out: “就象什么什么什么。。。“ Then you pause a beat, and say the pun.

One of my old teachers gave me a draft of a book he was writing that collected the 歇后语。

Probably the most used one is "That story was just like Madame Zhang's foot wraps: both long and stinky!"

懒婆娘的裹脚--又长又臭!(the one I found online wasn't Madame Zhang...they used "lazy gossip"...there may be different forms of the same 歇后语。)

Another is:

-That's like your nephew holding up a lantern for you: [pun for] "Just like always/as usual"

外甥打灯笼——照舅 (pun for: 照旧)

I could have sworn I heard of one about a seamstress being good with a needle, being a pun for "what a coincidence!" (真巧!) but I can't find it.

Anyway, here is a 歇后语词典目录:

http://mall.cnki.net/Reference/read_R200906044.html

• Like 3

Good topic.  I like 歇后语 better than 成语.  But since their longer I have a harder time remembering them.  The ones I often try to slip into conversation when appropriate:

肉包子打狗,一去不回.   Throwing a meat bun to a dog, you won't get it back.  The meaning is that you give something to someone or do something for someone, but get nothing in return.

脱的裤子放屁,多此一举.  Taking your pants off to fart, unnecessary action.  This is pretty easy to understand the meaning.  Going through unnecessary action.

I guess I should go to the threads that Skylee posted for more 歇后语.  

Hm. I originally thought that 歇后语 usually had a pun as the final component.